In 1984, RAGE was formed under the name Avenger. After the release of their debut album Prayers Of Steel and their EP Depraved To Black in 1985, the band changed their name to RAGE because there was already another band in England that also carried the same moniker. Originally the new name was supposed to be “Furious Rage” but it was eventually shortened to RAGE. The first album which was released under the new name was Reign of Fear in 1986.

RAGE have released their following albums in regular, continuous intervals and the band began touring with Running Wild, U.D.O., Motörhead and Saxon in the early 1990s.

Their 1992 album Trapped! marked their international breakthrough,with a tour in Japan being a short first highlight. Their success was repeated again in 1993 with the release of The Missing Link. After a lineup change,  RAGE went on to record Lingua Mortis, the first classical album by a German metal act ever, in 1996. Their material was performed live for the first time in late summer 1996 in Kufstein, Austria. Subsequently, together with a hired orchestra, RAGE embarked on a celebrated Christmas tour and played several European festivals.

The trio performed at Wacken Open Air in August 2001, revealing their newest album Welcome to the Other Side. The following releases Unity and Soundchaser were met with enthusiastic response from critics as well as from fans. RAGE toured with Primal Fear in 2002 and with Helloween in 2003.

After a three year hiatus, RAGE’s frontman Peavy Wagner performed a show at Milan, Italy, April 13th, 2006. In 2006, RAGE brought the Lingua Mortis Orchestra back to life again to release the album Speak Of The Dead, which was the last album featuring Mike Terrana on drums. On January 1st, 2007, the new drummer André Hilgers, formerly of Axxis, was announced.


In 2007, the band toured in Europe with a show featuring a symphonic orchestra from Minsk, Belarus under the name “Lingua Mortis Orchestra”. Their concert at Wacken Open Air in August the same year in front of 80,000 fans was recorded for a DVD to be included as bonus to their new album called Carved in Stone, which was released on February 22nd, 2008.

In February 2015 Peavy Wagner announced the split of the most recent lineup with Victor Smolski and André Hilgers. In December 2015, RAGE put out a huge 10 CD Limited Edition Box Set called The Refuge Years as well as the re-release of the band’s milestone album Black In Mind as a celebration of the 20th anniversary of its original release.


2016 – a new era has begun with a brand new band line up, consisting of the Venezuelan/Spanish  guitarist Marcos Rodriguez, the German/Greek drummer Vassilios “Lucky” Maniatopoulos and, of course, Peavy Wagner on bass/vocals. RAGE’s current album The Devil Strikes Again, which was released on June 10th, 2016, features a stronger-than-ever band that has managed to recollect their musical roots with a contemporary approach.


The Devil Strikes Again was highly acclaimed by the international music press and by the fans from all over the world.


Origin: Germany (DE)
Availability: 2018
Territoria: worldwide
Guarantee fee (price): **
Price info >>>

*In collaboration with Lucky Bob Music Management

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply